www.gt4dc.co.uk
Maintain, Modify and DRIVE your GT-Four

It is currently Tue May 14, 2024 2:03 pm

Post subject: Classic Car Insurance
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 12:00 pm 
Group N

Car Model: ST205
Hey guys, I was just wondering what the deal is with car insurance. The st185 isnt going to be my daily driver and is basically just going to be insured to get me to/from track days and occasional road fun/use! :D

Anyone got any tips for getting cheap quotes, It seems that classic car insurance is definitely the obvious choice but im new to finding this kind of policy. Are there any companies that are particularly cheap? Anyone got good experiences? Ive had a quote of £260 from footman james

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 10:17 pm 
Group N

I've got mine on a multi-car deal with my daily drive Astra and my wife's Focus. Worked out cheap, as stated mileage is low for the Four. I was fortunate that I ended up with good no claims on both, as this is per car not owner (bizarrely)... With Admiral btw.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 06, 2012 11:02 pm 
Club Staff

I've had my ST205 insured with AON Classic (now Footman James) for quite a few years now. Your quote of £260 will be hard to beat I think. With a few extras mine is £320 and I'm ancient and in a good postcode. I had similar quotes from others but decided to stay where I was.

Hope that helps.

1994 Toyota Celica GT-Four Special GT 590bhp @ 1.8bar
1989 Van Diemen RF88/89 Formula Ford 1600
2008 Nissan Patrol GU 3.0L ZD30DDTi 154bhp

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 07, 2012 7:48 am 
Group N